Skip to content

1863 June 1: Phineas Flint Receives a Letter from River Falls

June 1, 2013

On the back of a letter Jerry Flint wrote on April 29, 1863, to his brother Phineas is an additional letter to Phineas from someone in River Falls named Samuel. We don’t know who Samuel was, but it is interesting to note that it took Jerry’s letter over a month to arrive in River Falls.  Jerry had mailed his letter to Phineas in River Falls, but he was not in River Falls.  Whoever Samuel was, he took advantage of a blank page at the end of Jerry’s letter to add a note of his own before forwarding the letter to Phineas.  We have added a lot of punctuation.

The original letter is in the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University Archives and Area Research Center.

River Falls

June 1st       I received yours mailed May 28 today and as this came here for you, with one blank page, thought I would remail it after writing this page.  I have not re[a]d it, not that I sup[p]osed ther[e] was any thing secret in it but because I thot [sic] it did not concern me.  Short was in the office when your letter came in, he thought perhapse [sic] you could have the money of Whitefield and it might be better than to have him fool it away, it is best for you to do as you think best.  I have sold your ry[e], that is engaged it to Pratt and Dary at the marcket [sic] price.  I have not learned what that is yet.  Theodore and Ezery are at home on furlough for a few dayes [sic].  Mrs. Nicholes [sic] is quite sick now, I suppose it is not certain how it will turn with her yet.  It is the general opinion here that wheat is about as high as it will get to be.  I think I shal[l] sell mine, that is, what I have left.  I don’t think of any thing more that will interest you now.  I have made so many blunders in what I have writ[t]en I will stope [sic].

Yours, Samuel

1.  Theodore W. Nichols and, probably, Ezra Healey. They were both from River Falls and both in the same company that Phineas had been in, Company A of the 30th Wisconsin Infantry.

Letter from "Samuel" to Jerry Flint, June 1, 1863, from the Jerry E. Flint Paper (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

Letter from “Samuel” to Phineas Flint, June 1, 1863, from the Jerry E. Flint Paper (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

