Skip to content

1863 August 4: “I had what they call here ‘Congestive Chills'”

August 4, 2013

The original letter is in the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB), University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center.

New Orleans   August 4th 1863

Dear Father

                               I have but a very few moments to spare but will write you a line or two.

I have just recovered from a very severe sickness and had you seen me before it I hardly think that you would know me now, in four days I lost 40 pounds of good solid flesh, but am now getting quite stout again.  I had what they call here “Congestive Chills”¹ for two days the Surgeon gave me up, but by having an excellent constitution and first rate care, I came out first rate.  I am very weak yet but hope in the course of a week to be up all straight.  [paragraph break added]

I have been stationed at Donaldsonville (in this state) for the past month but was obliged to come to the city to recuperate.  If I continue to get better I shall go back next week and will write you from that post.

Give my love to mother and Diantha.  Write me often.

Yours Truly

Frank

1.  Malarial disease-like symptoms; intermittent fever with the addition of diarrhea.

Frank Harding letter of August 8, 1863, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Frank Harding letter of August 4, 1863, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

