Skip to content

1863 August 29: Frank Harding Commissioned Captain in the Corps d’Afrique

August 29, 2013

Following is Frank Harding’s provisional commission as a captain in the 15th Infantry Regiment of the “Corps d’Afrique,” or black troops.  The commission is signed by Major General Nathaniel P. Banks.

United States of America.

HEADQUARTERS, DEPARTMENT OF THE GULF.

divider
P R O V I S I O N A L   C O M M I S S I O N.

divider

Reposing Special Trust and Confidence in the Loyalty, Courage, Prudence and Ability of Private Frank Harding of Company G 4th Wis. Cavalry by virtue of the authority entrusted to me by the War=Department, I do appoint said Private Harding Captain of the Fifteenth Regiment of Infty. Corps d’Afrique Volunteers, (Company H,) to be obeyed and respected accordingly.

This Commission to remain in force until the pleasure of the President of the United States be made known in this behalf.

Given at New~Orleans, This Twentyninth day of August in the year One Thousand Eight Hundred and Sixty=Three.

[Signed] N. P. Banks
Major General Commanding.

By the General Commanding:
[Signed] G Norman Lieber¹
Acting Assistant Adjutant General.

On verso:

I Frank D. Harding do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I have never voluntarily borne arms against the United States since I have been a citizen thereof ; that I have voluntarily given no aid, countenance, counsel, or encouragement to persons engaged in armed hostility thereto ;  that I have neither sought nor accepted nor attempted to exercise the functions of any office whatever under any authority or pretended authority in hostility to the United States ;  that I have not yielded a voluntary support to any pretended government, authority, power, or constitution within the United States, hostile or inimical thereto.  And I do further swear (or affirm) that, to the best of my knowledge and ability, I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic ;  that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same ;  that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion ;  and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter, so help me God.

[Signed] Frank D Harding

September 14th 1863.

Then personally appeared the within-named Frank D Harding and took and subscribed in my presence the above oath, in token of his acceptance of the office to which he has been appointed.

[Signed] M McAllister 1st Lt
Act[ing] Asst Commissary of Musters.
Corps d’Afrique

1.  Guido Norman Lieber (1837-1923) was appointed major and judge advocate in 1862, and he served in this capacity in the Department of the Gulf. He also served as adjutant general of the department, and as judge of the provost court in New Orleans. He was then transferred to the Judge Advocate General’s office in Washington.

From the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

From the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

From the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

From the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

