Skip to content

1863 December 2: “The soldiers are now in good spirits, they are reinlisting all over the country, we get recruits every few days”

December 2, 2013

A letter from Wyman X. Folsom with the 7th Minnesota Infantry, to his father, W. H. C. Folsom, in Taylors Falls, Minnesota.  Wyman’s handwriting is difficult to read and there are several words we could not make out, indicated with [___].  The original letter is in the W. H. C. Folsom Papers (River Falls Mss S), in the University Archives and Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

Saint Louis Mo
“Dec 2” 1863

May Dear Father

                              I can not improve myself any better this morning than to write you a few lines letting you know my whereabouts and that I am well and in good spirits.  My health has been exceedingly good since we came here, and I am in hopes that I may continue in good health while I am in the army which I am in great hopes won’t be long.  I am of the opinion that the war is about wound up.  We are getting the rebels into close quarters and soon they must yield — soon this traitorous flag must fall, and our glorious flag float in triumph over the entire South.  O! then won’t there be a day of rejoicing when our brave boys [___] off in triumph, and they shurly [sic] will.  The United States can carry on the war for years to come.  The soldiers are now in good spirits, they are reinlisting [sic] all over the country, we get recruits every few days, and I think there is going to be a war revival soon and men will enlist by the thousand and at one mighty blow crush out this poisonous viper that is trying to destroy our nation.  I actually believe if I was out of the service I should reinlist [sic] — what do you think of that Father.  I am nineteen years old to-day and have got my high heeled boots on so you must make allowances for my broad assursions [sic].  This makes the 2nd birthday since I enlisted and probably I will pass another in the army.  I consider it an honor to belong to the U.S.A.

And it is making a man of me.  I have now had a chance to study God human nature and the ways of the world.  I am becoming convinced more and more every day of God’s goodness, my trust is in him and I depend only upon him for everything.  I am confident he is ever near me watching my actions.  I can not do wrong.  I used to swear some but I don’t now, there! there!  Getchell has brought me in a letter and I must trust it for [___] his letter.  I have read the letter and eat my dinner and now will finish my letter.  Father when I get out of the army I want to go through Commercial Colledge [sic], what do you think about it.  I want to become a thorough book keeper and a good mathematician, are you willing I should.  When I go into business I want to understand what I am about.  [paragraph break added]

I will now close my letter by bidding you goodby.  Give my love to all res[_]ving your [___].

Your Obt. Son
Wyman X. Folsom

Mother sent me a recipt [sic] for stopping diarrhea.  I have lost it—have her send me another one if you please.

Wyman X. Folsom letter of December 2, 1863, from the W. H. C. Folsom Papers (River Falls Mss S) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Wyman X. Folsom letter of December 2, 1863, from the W. H. C. Folsom Papers (River Falls Mss S) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

