Skip to content

1864 June 12: 100-Day Men “have got orders to leave for Memphis, which makes them look down in the mouth, they think that … is getting too near the front”

June 12, 2014

Homer Levings is recovered from whatever illness he had that kept him from returning from furlough with the rest of Company A of the 12th Wisconsin Infantry.  Homer is not good about using punctuation, whether it be commas, periods, or apostrophes (o’clock).  We have added punctuation where it made sense.  Homer was also a terrible speller, so you will see [sic] after many words.  Just a reminder that [sic] is a Latin abbreviation meaning that the misspelling was Homer’s and not ours.  In a few instances it made more sense to just add the missing vowel using square brackets.

The original letter is in the Edwin D. Levings Papers (River Falls Mss BO), in the University Archives and Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

Camp Randall
June 12th/64.

Dear Mother,

                          I know you are anxious to hear from me so I will try and improve my time to day as it is Sunday by writing you a letter.  We had a very pleasant trip down the river, though it was rather slow.  We left Prescott on the Milwauke [sic] about 12 oclock [sic] at night.  I called at Capt. Maxson’s [Orrin T. Maxson], Cripin’s [sic: John F. Crippen], Miles’es [George F. Miles], and Meachum [sic: Edgar A. Meacham], before leaving and took some small packages for their friends.  There were but few passengers on board so we were not crowded.  We got s[t]uck on Reef Slough, and layed [sic] there 4 or 5 hours.  We arrived at Prarie Duchien [sic: Prairie du Chien] the 8th about 12 m, and started for Madison the same about 4 o’clock and arrived here that evening at 9.  The next day we went up town, sat for photographs.  I had a dentist to work at my teeth all that day.  I had 11 teeth filled and one extracted, which cost me the su $18.50.  [paragraph break added]

I did not report until the 10th.  I reported to Col. Green the provost marshal for transportation, but could not get it, he told me to report to Col. Chapman at Camp Randall.  I did so and he told me where I find any quarters, to stop in.  He told me I would be sent off Monday to my regt.  There are about a doz. other soldiers, stopping here with me, from different regiments who are waiting for transportation.  I shall have company all the way, there are two other soldiers from the regt.  I found one of my company here in the hospital, he will not go when I do.  I did not have any trouble on the way down about my papers.

I did not have only a half a dozzen [sic] photographs taken on account of my funds growing small.  One of my pictures was spoiled so I did not get but five, three of them are gone already, but I am having some more taken.  I will enclose one of these.  There are a good many hundred day men here in camp.  They have dr[a]wed their guns and have got orders to leave for Memphis, which makes them look down in the mouth, they think that, that, is getting to [sic: too] near the front.  But I must close for I have run out of ideas.  Give my love to all,

Afectionately [sic] Yours,
Homer
.

Homer Levings letter of June 12, 1864, from the Edwin D. Levings Papers (River Falls Mss BO) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Homer Levings letter of June 12, 1864, from the Edwin D. Levings Papers (River Falls Mss BO) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

