Skip to content

1864 August 6: “In less than one week I think Mobile will be in our possession”

August 6, 2014

The original letter is in the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB), University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center.

New Orleans, La. Aug. 6th 1864

Dear Father,

                      I received a letter from you nearly two weeks ago and should have answered ere this, but though[t] I would be with you.  I have endeavored for some time past to get out of this army but as yet met with little or no success.  Gen. Banks [Nathaniel P. Banks] seems disposed to keep us all here until the war shall be ended.

I have been in this City for the past week on a leave of absence.  My regiment is at Morganzia [sic] about 150 miles up the river.  I expect that they will be here to day.

We have just heard from Mobile.  Farragut [David G. Farragut] is doing the right thing, in less than one week I think Mobile will be in our possession.  By a recent order from Washington the No. of our regiment has been changed.  It is now called the 99th US Col. Infantry.  I shall try to get home this summer but don’t know as it will be possible to do.

So, we have been engaged for the past two months building a very large Fort a[t] Morganzia [sic] and if “Mr Johny Red” wants to come in at that place he will find some “Mokes”¹ ready and willing to receive him.  [paragraph break added]

For the city so far has been quite healthy but I hear this morning of some few cases of Yellow Fever, but that is so every year.  I don’t know how you manage to live in Conn, here prices are so that it is allmost [sic] impossible to save any thing.  On my last payment I saved six hundred dollars but by the Captain of the [___] Shark lost it.  I have some hopes of getting it as it was in a U. S. ten-forty bond² and registered in my name.

Give my love to Mother and Diantha. I will write you again in a few days.

Yours Truly,
.             . Frank Harding

1.  Moke is considered derogatory slang used when referring to a black person. It was derived from the black color of Mocha coffee which was first used 5 years previous to the Civil War.
2.  Ten-forty bonds were issued in 1864 by the United States government to raise $75 million to help defray war expenses. The bonds had a 6 percent interest rate, and a maturation date of from 10 to 40 years.

Frank Harding letter of August 6, 1864, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Frank Harding letter of August 6, 1864, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

