Skip to content

1864 December 26: “We were attacked last night . . . I suppose that they wished to come in and just say Merry Christmas”

December 26, 2014

The original letter is in the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB), University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center.

Morganza  La.  Dec 26th 1864

Dear Father,

                      I have neglected to write to you for some time thinking that something might turn up that might interest you, but every thing goes on in the same old style, nothing new whatever.  I am in good health & spirits, and passed Christmas very pleasantly.  I should have liked to have been in old Conn. but “our great Uncle” [Abraham Lincoln] seemed to want “every able bodied man in the field” just now and I will have to excersise [sic] a little more patience.  I haven’t given up the idea of coming home this winter but don’t know but what I shall have to.  [paragraph break added]

We were attacked last night at at [sic] this post but easily drove the rebbs [sic] back to the swamp.  I suppose that they wished to come in and just say Merry Christmas or something of that kind.

I intend going to the city next week and if I do will write to you from there.  Did Diantha get a letter from me?  I wrot [sic] to her nearly one month ago.  I haven’t heard from the Thorks [?] for a long while, don’t know where they are.  I have writen [sic] them but have received no answer.  [paragraph break added]

Give my love to mother & Diantha.  Write me and believe me

Yours truly,
.        .Frank

Frank Harding letter of December 26, 1864, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Frank Harding letter of December 26, 1864, from the Frank D. Harding Papers (River Falls Mss AB) in the University Archives & Area Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

