Skip to content

1865 March 13: “The rebs bushwhacked a little too much to suit us so we concluded to go through them”

March 13, 2015

 The original letter is in the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University Archives and Area Research Center.

Port [___], La.   Mar. 13, 1865.

My dear Cousin,

                             About a week ago my soul was made glad by the arrival of an epistle from yourself.  I believe it was the first received from you for many weeks, and though I had been trying to make myself that I cared but little whether anyone wrote me or not.  When it came, it breathed so much of real friendships that I thought to my self that such missives were a blessing.

We have just returned from an expedition into the country.  The only object of the move was to attract the enemy’s attention toward us while other campaigns were in progress.  We had only two quite sharp skirmishes.  At one time, my company was out with two others and making our way cautiously towards Clinton.  The rebs bushwhacked a little too much to suit us so we concluded to go through them.  Accordingly we charged and did go through, but paid rather dear as several good men were lost.  None of your acquaintance were injured.  Lyman Carlton’s¹ horse was shot but no great injury was done to himself.  The good Lord was again on the side of your humble servant and he escaped without a scratch.  Shall I always be as fortunate?

It is raining now with more than seven furies and in fact, for the most of the last month it has been one incessant storm.  The country is in danger of being wholly inundated.  There is but little of interest transpiring here at present.  Nearly all the troops on the Mississippi have been going towards Mobile and today, rumor has that our regiment is to follow.  I care but little whether it be so or not.

Charlie² is well and moves along in the same style as of old and writes letters enough to make a man poor just to pay the postage.  Rossie [Roswell V. Pratt] is quite and orderly as usual a noble soldier and he has a soul is big as though he weighed two hundred pounds.  He harasses me every time I see him about the use of my favorite beverage, but for all that, I love him as a brother.

Please give my love to cousin Sarah Pratt Parker.  Tell her I love to think of her as she was but thought it too gloomy to think of her as she is.  ‘Tis too bad she changed to such a sober sturdy woman.  I wish that winter at the Falls could be stricken from the rolls of time.  How does Uncle Tilson and Aunt Sarah get along ?  I hope they are well.  Has grandmother stood the winter as well as usual?  Is mother’s health good?  And how are your folks flourishing?

It is getting quite late and my duty as officer of the day calls upon me to visit the picket lines before I lay down.  Wishing I may hear again from you soon and that this may find you in good health and spirits, I remain your Friend and Cousin,

Jerry E. Flint

1.  Lyman H. Carlton was recruited by Jerry Flint on December 24, 1863.
2.  Charles P. Nichols was recruited by Jerry Flint on October 23, 1863.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

