Skip to content

1865 June 14: “I suppose we are going for Texas now, at any rate such is the general expectation”

June 14, 2015

The original letter is in the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University Archives and Area Research Center.

Camp 4th,Wis Cav’y
Vicksburg Miss June 14 1865

Dear Brother

                          I have not written to you for so long that I have no doubt that you think I am playing off.  But not so.  I have been so thoroughly disgusted for the last few days that to write to any one or speak pleasantly has been a task.  You are probably aware also that since leaving the vicinity of Mobile where I last wrote you I have travelled [sic] all over the Southern Confederacy.  Have been at Vicksburg only about a week and am fully up for a campaign.  This is what  disgusts me.  I enlisted for the war, and now that it is over I am desirous of leaving the service.  Men who have laid back and came in at the eleventh hour are being discharged while those who have served from the beginning must be used for garrison duty, or make triumphal marches over a played out Confederacy.  I suppose we are going for Texas now, at any rate such is the general expectation.  Excuse me for expressing myself disgusted.  I believe it is the first time.  Service in war is well enough, I can stand that, but peace soldiering ruins body and soul.

The Regiment is going to be consolidated and the surplus officers mustered out but I do not place much confidence in that as being a means of my getting out, for the Col. [Joseph Bailey] is bound to have me stay.  I am still in command of the company.  Warren [Warren P. Knowles] is in the city (NO [New Orleans]) and whether he intends to join the Regt or not I cannot say.  Am in hopes to [hear?] something from him in a few days.  I rather wish to go to Mexico but if I must stay where I am now, why that knocks all these plans in the head.

The boys are all well and in as good spirits as you could expect them to be soldiering in a time of peace.  Rossie [Roswell V. Pratt] is perhaps an exception to the general good health, although he is still on duty.  His lungs trouble him some.  Northern atmosphere would help him.

Tell the folks I am all right, with the exception of being a little cross.  But by no means to expect me to write to them for I have sworn off entirely.  Meantime I hope they will all fulfill their duty to a fellow mortal by writing to me once a week.

My Best respects to all and remember me as ever

Your Brother

J E Flint

Excuse this envelope.  I have no small ones nor money to buy any with.

.

Jerry Flint letter of June 14, 1865, from the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

Jerry Flint letter of June 14, 1865, from the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

