Skip to content

1865 August 27: Jerry Flint Writes, “there is not much prospect of the Regt. being Discharged this fall”

August 27, 2015

Jerry Flint, with the 4th Wisconsin Cavalry, complains that he hasn’t had any letters since June, but we have not had a letter from him since then, either.  The original of this letter is in the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University Archives and Area Research Center.

New Orleans  La
August 27th  1865

Dear Brother;

                           I dropped you a few lines the other day in reference to the money I expressed to you, but was in to [sic] big a hurry to write more at that time.  I shall start for Indianolia [sic: Indianola, Mississippi] tomorrow provided I can get a Steamer that suits me.  I might have gone last night but accidentally got left because I did not like the Boat.

After I got to the above mentioned point I shall have 160 miles to go by stage to get to San Antonio where the Regt. is now located.  As near as I can learn there is not much prospect of the Regt. being Discharged this fall.  I have not had a letter from the north for so long I have almost forgotten where to direct a letter to find my friends.  I have not had a letter from that country since June.  That is the honest truth.

My health so very fine now and as we will soon commence having cooler weather I am in hopes to be bunkum again.  I might have got a furlough while in Hospital but was afraid that you would laugh at me for coming home so often.  How are all the folks and what do they find to do this awful hot weather ?

Do you hear anything from Helen.  Let me know where she is now, and what Dean is doing.¹

Tell all my good friends that if they want to see me to Go to Texas.

Business is quite lively here since the close of the war.  Jeff. Thompson the Rebel Gen. has a store only three doors from where I am writing.  I see him every day.  The famous Semmes [Raphael Semmes] of the Alabama is also here.

If that money does not arrive by the twentieth of Sept., write and let me know.  Have the money so disposed of that I can get it at any time.

Write Soon Direct to San Antonio,

From Your Brother,
.              .J. E. Flint

1.  Jerry’s sister, Helen Flint Dean, and her husband, Royal L. Dean.

Jerry Flint letter of August 27, 1865, from the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

Jerry Flint letter of August 27, 1865, from the Jerry E. Flint Papers (River Falls Mss BN) at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls University Archives & Area Research Center

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

